Texas Counties Deliver

Please complete the ONLINE MARRIAGE APPLICATION and make note of your Transaction Number. Your Transaction Number is required when coming into the Clerk's Office to obtain your license.

(The Online Marriage Application is not Mobile Friendly. For best results, current web browser versions are always recommended. Java Script must be enabled to utilize the site.  If you are having difficulty, please ensure that you have installed all available software and security updates. Public terminals are available in the basement of the County Clerk's Office if you are experiencing difficulties.)

Your executed marriage license must be recorded in the Limestone County Clerk's Office.

  • • Must be 18 years of age. Texas Family Law Code 2.003 - Application for License by Minor

    • If divorced within 30 days, must have Court Order reflecting that the 30 days are waived.

    • Both be present with non-expired identification. Texas Family Law Code 2.005 - Proof of Identity and Age

    • Social Security Number. You are not required to show your Social Security Card.

    • Know the City and County in which you were born.

    Pursuant to Texas Family Code Section 2.204 there is a 72 hour waiting period after the license has been issued, unless waived by a District Judge, a Certificate from Twogether in Texas, or if Active Military (must present military ID).

    • Must be married within 90 days from the date that the license was issued.

    • If one or more of the parties cannot speak english you will need a third party to translate.

  • • Driver's License

    • State issued ID

    • Military ID

    • Passport (Foreign Passport must contain Visa)

    • Certified copy of Birth Certificate

    A Matricula Consular cannot be used.

    If you have been divorced and retained your maiden name in the divorce, but your identification has your married name, you must provide a certified copy of the Divorce Decree that states your name was changed back to your maiden name.

    PLEASE NOTE: The name listed on your marriage license MUST exactly match the name on your identification. No exceptions.
  • • Marriage License - without Twogether in Texas certificate $82.00

    • Marriage License - with Twogether in Texas certificate $22.00

    • Informal Marriage License - $46.00

    • The fee is waived for Armed forces of the United States stationed in another Country in support of combat or another military operation.

    PLEASE NOTE: A convenience fee will be charged for all credit/debit card transactions.
  • An Absentee Affidavit is to be completed if an applicant is unable to appear personally before the County Clerk to apply for a Marriage License.

    The county Clerk may not issue a Marriage License for which both applicants are absent unless both applicants are a member of the armed forces of the United States stationed in another country in support of combat or another military operation.

    A person may agree to marriage by the appearance of a proxy appointed in the affidavit authorized by Sub-chapter A if the person is:

    • A member of the armed forces of the United States stationed in another country in support of combat or another military operation; and

    • Unable to attend the ceremony

    Absentee Affidavit and Instructions
  • There are NO blood test requirements.
  • • Licensed or ordained Christian Ministers and Priest 

    • Jewish Rabbis or persons who are officers of religious organizations; and who are duly authorized by the organization to conduct marriage ceremonies

    • Justices of the Supreme Court

    • Judges of the Court of Criminal Appeals

    • Justices of the Courts of Civil Appeals

    • Judges of the District, County and Probate Courts

    • Judges of the County Courts at Law, Courts of Domestic Relations and Juvenile Courts

    • Justices of the Peace

    • Judges of the Federal Courts of this State, retired Municipal Court Judge and retired Judge or Magistrate of a Federal Court of this state.

  • The cost of your license will vary depending on whether you have particpated in a state approved premarital training program (Texas Family Code Chapter 2 §2.013). The Limestone County Clerk's Office accepts the certificate of completion for the Twogether In Texas premarital training course. The premarital course is an eight (8) hour training both you and your spouse-to-be may attend to learn conflict management, communication skills and key elements for building a healthy marriage.

    Once the course has been completed you will receive a certificate of completion which will include the name of the course, the name of the provider and the date the course was completed. The certificate will be valid for one (1) year.  Certificate MUST be presented at the time of application. Refunds will not be issued for certificates brought in after application is completed.Upon receipt of the certificate, the County Clerk will deduct $60.00 from the license fee and waive the state required 72-hour waiting period. For more information on participating in the premarital training course please visit the Twogether In Texas website.


    Above is an example of what the Twogether in Texas Certificate looks like. If you took the premarital course that entails this program, you will receive this certificate when you have completed the curriculum.

  • If one or both parties to a Marriage License discover an error on the recorded Marriage License, both parties to the marriage shall execute a Notarized Affidavit stating the error. The County Clerk shall file and record the Affidavit as an Amendment to the Marriage License, and the Affidavit is considered part of the Marriage License. Texas Family Code 2.209.

    Affidavit to Amend a Recorded Marriage License

  • Certified copies of Marriage Records are $6.00 per copy.

    To order certified copies of a Marriage License please complete the application below and send with your payment to Limestone County Clerk P.O. Box 350 Groesbeck, TX. 76642

    Application for Certified Copy of Marriage License

  • Limestone County Clerk's Office

    200 W. State St. Ste. G102 Groesbeck, TX. 76642

    (Downstairs in the Basement. There is a handicap accessible ramp on the East end of the Courthouse facing towards the railroad tracks.)

    Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.